Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm Programming Radio Oklahoma Network  |  7401 N. Kelley Ave. Oklahoma City, OK 73111  |  (405) 841-3675  |  Fax: (405) 841-3674
   

Beef Buzz News


Annual Food Outlook Report Looks at Market Trends and Future Developments for Beef

Fri, 16 Dec 2011 09:35:44 CST

Annual Food Outlook Report Looks at Market Trends and Future Developments for Beef The United Nations’ Food and Agricultural Organization puts out an annual food outlook report that discusses some of the world’s market trends and what certain developments may mean for the future. K-State livestock economist Glynn Tonsor explains some of the findings from that report, and how they’re related to current meat demand worldwide.


Tonsor says that the report illustrates specific food consumption patterns and how they correlate to the increasing world population. Tonsor adds that what he thinks is important to highlight in this report is those production changes differ, trade volumes differ, and noarrowly beef trade volumes are up just shy of a percent, which he says is consistent with the concept of globalization.


It is expected that consumption patterns between developed and developing countries will work opposite one another. Tonsor anticipates this gap to be even more expansive when analyzing meat consumption between countries with differing socio-economic statuses. Especially between developing and developed countries, Tonsor says we should expect this gap to continue going forward.


Click here for the Food Outlook Global Market Analysis report Tonsor is referring to.


The Beef Buzz is a regular feature heard on radio stations around the region on the Radio Oklahoma Network- but is also a regular audio feature found on this website as well. Click on the listen bar below for today's show- and check out our archives for older Beef Buzz shows covering the gamut of the beef cattle industry today.

   

   


right-click to download mp3

 

WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI

 

Beef News

  • USMEF Gives New Secretary of Ag Sonny Perdue Its Stamp of Approval as an Advocate for Trade  Tue, 25 Apr 2017 11:43:10 CDT
  • Latest Cattle on Feed Report Shows Industry Doing a Good Job Managing Growing Cattle Supplies  Mon, 24 Apr 2017 11:10:01 CDT
  • Integrity Beef Sustainability Project Offers Opportunity to Test US Roundtable's New Metrics  Fri, 21 Apr 2017 14:02:19 CDT
  • Serious About Ranching? Consider a Master's in Ranch Management from the King Ranch Institute  Thu, 20 Apr 2017 12:15:18 CDT
  • King Ranch Institute's Clay Mathis Talks Technology on the Ranch and How to Make Money Using It  Wed, 19 Apr 2017 11:04:07 CDT
  • Standing the Test of Time - Professional Advice on How to Think Like a Successful Rancher Should  Tue, 18 Apr 2017 13:21:14 CDT
  • Don't Wait, Start Now in Developing an Estate Plan for Your Family's Farming or Ranching Operation  Mon, 17 Apr 2017 12:24:31 CDT
  • Trump Convinces China to Grant Market Access to US Beef - NCBA Hails It a Major Victory  Fri, 14 Apr 2017 11:10:42 CDT
  • Market Watcher Jim Robb Says 1Q Strength just the Start to Solid Growth in Export Markets this Year  Thu, 13 Apr 2017 14:19:41 CDT
  • US Beef Exports Pick Up the Pace in 2017 Sporting a Strong Competitive Edge Internationally  Wed, 12 Apr 2017 12:52:44 CDT
  • Begin With the End In Mind - Finding the Right EPD Mix in Your Herd to Improve Quality and Profit  Tue, 11 Apr 2017 11:34:08 CDT
  • Small Steps That Can Take Your Herd Far in Improving the Flavor Profile of Your Cattle Herd  Mon, 10 Apr 2017 12:23:02 CDT
  • Derrell Peel Writes Feedlot Business a Clean Bill of Health Noting Aggressive and Current Marketings  Fri, 07 Apr 2017 14:05:12 CDT
  • US Beef Industry Sticking Its Foot in the Door of Asian Markets as Australia Regroups from Droughts  Thu, 06 Apr 2017 11:55:10 CDT
  • A Growing Taste for American Beef in Asia Has US Exporters Busy Trying to Keep Shelves Stocked  Wed, 05 Apr 2017 12:34:41 CDT
  • Thin Margins Force Cow/Calf Producers to Learn how to Squeeze the Most Profit from their Operation  Tue, 04 Apr 2017 11:36:20 CDT
  • Cattle Market Hitting on All Cylinders Right Now, But CattleFax Serves this News with a Grain of Salt  Mon, 03 Apr 2017 12:34:52 CDT
  • Set Yourself Up for the Best Chance at Preventing Herd Health Challenges with Bio-Mos by Alltech  Fri, 31 Mar 2017 12:41:49 CDT
  • Congressional Beef Caucus to be Re-established, NCBA Praises Bipartisan Support of its 35 Members  Thu, 30 Mar 2017 11:40:24 CDT
  • What's Bad for Brazil May be Good for US - Strategies the US Beef Industry Should be Considering  Wed, 29 Mar 2017 11:01:29 CDT
  • Robust Market Demand Keeping Beef Prices on the Rise Despite Growing Production and Supply  Tue, 28 Mar 2017 14:15:26 CDT
  • Unexpected Strong Demand Keeping Pace with Growing Supply Setting Up Sideways Trend for 2017  Mon, 27 Mar 2017 12:24:31 CDT
  • NCBA President Craig Uden Testifies on the Imperative Nature of Securing a Foot & Mouth Vaccine  Fri, 24 Mar 2017 15:42:29 CDT
  • Get Paid More by Paying More - Attention that is - to the Dollar Index of Your Next Bull's EPDs  Thu, 23 Mar 2017 12:31:03 CDT
  • The Fire is Out- But Tom Fanning Continues to Lead Wildfire Relief Efforts in Northwest Oklahoma  Wed, 22 Mar 2017 06:12:49 CDT
  • Shane Bedwell Believes the Modern Day Showring and Genomic Selection Tools Can and Do Intersect in a Positive Way   Tue, 21 Mar 2017 03:43:09 CDT
  • What's the Outlook for Beef Exports After Early Success in 2017? Jim Robb of the LMIC Weighs In  Fri, 17 Mar 2017 17:15:45 CDT
  • 2017 Marketing Year Off to a Good Start as Demand for Beef Strengthened by Pro-Trump Sentiments  Thu, 16 Mar 2017 11:28:27 CDT
  • Genomic EPDs Help Producers Learn the Value of Prediction Accuracy When It Comes to Breeding  Wed, 15 Mar 2017 15:58:59 CDT
  • Fresh Worries About Well Being of Cattle That Survived the Wildfires of Last Week- Tom Fanning Explains  Tue, 14 Mar 2017 06:01:49 CDT
  • Maintaining Proper Leg and Foot Structure in Your Herd Can Benefit Cattle's Longevity and Productivity  Mon, 13 Mar 2017 12:14:41 CDT
  • Integrity Beef Sustainability Project Offers Opportunity to Test US Roundtable's New Metrics  Fri, 10 Mar 2017 11:07:21 CST
  • Industry Has High Expectations for Integrity Beef Project to Improve and Strengthen Relationships  Thu, 09 Mar 2017 12:08:49 CST
  • What's Really the Underlying Issues Causing Market Volatility - Dr. Derrell Peel May Have the Answer  Wed, 08 Mar 2017 12:35:45 CST
  • Stocker Producers Brace for Margin Squeezes as Feedlots Take Advantage of a Low Cost of Gain  Tue, 07 Mar 2017 12:14:38 CST

  •  

       
    © 2008-2017 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup

    WebReady powered by WireReady® NSI