Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm and Ranch Programming, Radio Oklahoma Ag Network  |  2401 Exchange Ave, Suite F, Oklahoma City, Ok 73108  |  (405) 601-9211
   

Beef Buzz News


Seedstock Industry Undergone Many Changes in Last 20 Years, Says Jack Ward, American Hereford Association

Thu, 14 Jan 2021 08:06:10 CST

Seedstock Industry Undergone Many Changes in Last 20 Years, Says Jack Ward, American Hereford Association Genetic evaluations may be at the top of the list of changes Jack Ward, executive vice president of the American Hereford Association, has witnessed during his many years of involvement in the seedstock industry.

I grew up in the seedstock business and my wife and I owned and operated an Angus farm in Indiana, Ward said.

Ward has now worked for the Hereford Association for about two decades, joining the group in 2003, and he noted there has been many changes in the industry since his early involvement.

You have to accept technology and the key for the seedstock industry is the consumer is the ultimate goal for us, Ward said.

The seedstock industry is at the top of the pyramid, he said.

Itís a big scheme of things that go together for the commercial cattlemen, the feeders and the packers, he said.

When I first started, we barely had any genetic evaluation, Ward said.

Today we update EPDís with pedigree, phenotypic and genomic component every week, he said.

We need to be efficient and provide the right kind of information and allow our breeders to make changes to help their customers become profitable, Ward said.

Before the vast array of genetic information available today, a breed defect could lead a producer to shun an entire breed type to avoid s specific genetic abnormality.

Today we donít have to do that, Ward said.

Now, as we move forward the ability for this genomics to help us predict genetics will shorten our genetic turnovers in the seedstock industry, Ward said.

Itís a tool that is here to stay and will get better as we move along, he added.

Click on the LISTEN BAR below to hear more of Ronís interview with Jack Ward.

The Beef buzz is a regular feature heard on radio stations around the region on the Radio Oklahoma Network and is a regular audio feature found on this website as well. Click on the LISTEN BAR below for todayís show and check out our archives for older Beef Buzz shows covering the gamut of the beef cattle industry today.

   
   

Ron Hays Beef Buzzes With Jack Ward
right-click to download mp3

 

WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI

 

Beef News

  • New Research Explores the Pros and Cons of Cash Cattle Markets in the U.S.  Fri, 24 Sep 2021 10:16:19 CDT
  • New Research Shows Grid Market System Adds $700 Million in Value to U.S. Beef  Thu, 23 Sep 2021 11:19:06 CDT
  • Don Close, VP of Rabo AgriFinance Explains How Beef Won Over the Chinese Consumer  Wed, 22 Sep 2021 10:39:31 CDT
  • OCA's Michael Kelsey: We Need to Take a Pause on Issuing New Medical Marijuana Grower Permits  Tue, 21 Sep 2021 13:19:27 CDT
  • NCBA's Josh White Says Beef Quality Assurance Produces Better Beef  Mon, 20 Sep 2021 10:35:46 CDT
  • Certified Angus Beef Program is a Win for Producers, Processors and Consumers Says John Stika  Fri, 17 Sep 2021 10:48:26 CDT
  • John Stika Believes the Pandemic Shows Consumers Want High Quality Beef  Thu, 16 Sep 2021 08:07:17 CDT
  • Dr. Jody Wade's Advice to Cattle Producers is Stay Ahead of BRD  Wed, 15 Sep 2021 13:14:02 CDT
  • Katelyn McCullock Sees High Hay Prices in the U.S.  Tue, 14 Sep 2021 10:49:50 CDT
  • NCBA's Ethan Lane Believes mCOOL is Old News  Mon, 13 Sep 2021 11:15:37 CDT
  • NCBA's Ethan Lane Heard Little New in White House Briefing on Competition  Fri, 10 Sep 2021 11:45:17 CDT
  • Dan Halstrom Predicts 2021 Will Be a Record Year for U.S. Beef Exports  Thu, 09 Sep 2021 11:15:04 CDT
  • Dietician Shalene McNeill Says Consumers Enthusiastic About Including Beef in Their Diet  Wed, 08 Sep 2021 09:25:33 CDT
  • Shalene McNeill on Why You Should Feed Your Baby Beef  Tue, 07 Sep 2021 12:20:07 CDT
  • Randy Blach Says Sustainability is an Opportunity for Beef Cattle Industry  Mon, 06 Sep 2021 05:00:35 CDT
  • Although Beef Demand is High, Dollars are Slow to Trickle Down to Producers  Fri, 03 Sep 2021 12:25:25 CDT
  • Dr. Harold Newcomb Says Strategic Deworming Helps Your Bottom Line  Thu, 02 Sep 2021 09:33:31 CDT
  • Carbon Markets: The Wild West of Free-Market Enterprise  Wed, 01 Sep 2021 10:38:53 CDT
  • Biden Administration Intent on Dumping Trump Era Navigable Waters Protection Rule  Tue, 31 Aug 2021 16:57:44 CDT
  • NCBA's Scott Yager Says Redefining WOTUS Will Be Repetitive  Mon, 30 Aug 2021 11:18:40 CDT
  • Mark Your Calendars for the Second Annual Cattlemen's Congress  Fri, 27 Aug 2021 11:46:50 CDT
  • More From NCBA's Kent Bacus on Why Beef Exports to China, Japan and Korea Work  Thu, 26 Aug 2021 11:36:51 CDT
  • U.S. Beef is Bustling in the Pacific Rim Says NCBA's Kent Bacus  Wed, 25 Aug 2021 08:32:01 CDT
  • Bruce Hoffman Talks Treating Bovine Respiratory Disease  Tue, 24 Aug 2021 09:29:20 CDT
  • OSU's Derrell Peel Says August Cattle on Feed Report Shows Tighter Cattle Supplies Ahead  Mon, 23 Aug 2021 13:24:14 CDT
  • Randy Blach Believes Better Quality Cattle Brings Great Eating Experience to Consumers  Fri, 20 Aug 2021 09:17:27 CDT
  • Dan Halstrom: There are Concerns Despite High Exports of Beef and Pork  Thu, 19 Aug 2021 10:42:01 CDT
  • U.S. Beef. It's What's for Dinner, Globally  Wed, 18 Aug 2021 10:23:41 CDT
  • NCBA Continues Work With Members and Congress in Improving Market Transparency and Cash Cattle Trade  Tue, 17 Aug 2021 10:29:42 CDT
  • Ethan Lane Says All Eyes are on Transfer Taxes  Mon, 16 Aug 2021 09:34:18 CDT
  • Scott Yager on What New Methane Measurements Mean for the Cattle Industry  Fri, 13 Aug 2021 10:05:46 CDT
  • CattleFax VP Kevin Good Says Cattle Market Leverage is Moving Toward Producers  Thu, 12 Aug 2021 09:20:34 CDT
  • NCBA's Danielle Beck on How the Biden Administration Plans on Funding Their Goals for the U.S.  Wed, 11 Aug 2021 09:53:56 CDT
  • NCBA President Jerry Bohn Talks How the Biden Administration Could Impact Beef Producers  Tue, 10 Aug 2021 11:36:01 CDT
  • Oklahoma National Stockyards President Kelli Payne Talks Resiliency Amid the Coronavirus Pandemic  Mon, 09 Aug 2021 21:39:00 CDT

  •  

       

       
       

    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2021 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.