Oklahoma Farm Report masthead graphic with wheat on the left and cattle on the right.
Howdy Neighbors!
Ron Hays, Director of Farm and Ranch Programming, Radio Oklahoma Ag Network  |  2401 Exchange Ave, Suite F, Oklahoma City, Ok 73108  |  (405) 601-9211
   

Beef Buzz News


USDA Sec. Vilsack Explains $4 Billion Plan to Strengthen Critical Food Supply Chians

Mon, 14 Jun 2021 07:59:15 CDT

USDA Sec. Vilsack Explains $4 Billion Plan to Strengthen Critical Food Supply Chians The U.S. Department of Agriculture announced plans to invest more than $4 billion to strengthen critical supply chains through the Build Back Better initiative and on today’s Beef Buzz USDA Sec. Tom Vilsack explains how that money will be used.

Vilsack, who was selected to co-chair the Administration’s Supply Chain Disruption Taskforce, said the Task Force will provide a whole government response to address near-term supply chain challenges to the economic recovery.

The plan is to build resilience into the food supply chain from producer to the consumer.

We hope to provide resources to improve existing small and midsize processing facilities to be able to cope and manage with current covid challenges, Vilsack said.

Vilsack added they also want to look at creating a pilot program where the federal government could partner with state and local governments to help expand new processing facilities.

Vilsack they will be looking at a variety of ways to spread the $4 billion among a number of entities.

My hope is that farmer owned cooperatives and perhaps some unique partnerships with those who work in these plants, Vlisack said.

By creating greater diversity in capacity, ownership and size of operations, Vilsack hopes this will lead to greater resilience.

More market transparency could also be a result of creating additional processing capacity, Vilsack said.

The USDA chief said this requires a closer look at the Packers and Stockyards Act over the next several months.

Producers deserve a fair shake in the market and there has to be competition and openness, he said.

To learn more about the USDA plan, click here.

Click on the LISTEN BAR below to hear more comments from USDA Sec. Vilsack.

The Beef Buzz is a regular feature heard on radio stations around the region on the Radio Oklahoma Network and is a regular audio feature found on this website as well. Click on the LISTEN BAR below for today’s show and check out our archives for older Beef Buzz shows covering the gamut of the beef cattle industry today.

   
   

Ron Hays Beef Buzzes With USDA Sec. Tom Vilsack
right-click to download mp3

 

WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI

 

Beef News

  • NCBA's Josh White Says Beef Quality Assurance Produces Better Beef  Mon, 20 Sep 2021 10:35:46 CDT
  • Certified Angus Beef Program is a Win for Producers, Processors and Consumers Says John Stika  Fri, 17 Sep 2021 10:48:26 CDT
  • John Stika Believes the Pandemic Shows Consumers Want High Quality Beef  Thu, 16 Sep 2021 08:07:17 CDT
  • Dr. Jody Wade's Advice to Cattle Producers is Stay Ahead of BRD  Wed, 15 Sep 2021 13:14:02 CDT
  • Katelyn McCullock Sees High Hay Prices in the U.S.  Tue, 14 Sep 2021 10:49:50 CDT
  • NCBA's Ethan Lane Believes mCOOL is Old News  Mon, 13 Sep 2021 11:15:37 CDT
  • NCBA's Ethan Lane Heard Little New in White House Briefing on Competition  Fri, 10 Sep 2021 11:45:17 CDT
  • Dan Halstrom Predicts 2021 Will Be a Record Year for U.S. Beef Exports  Thu, 09 Sep 2021 11:15:04 CDT
  • Dietician Shalene McNeill Says Consumers Enthusiastic About Including Beef in Their Diet  Wed, 08 Sep 2021 09:25:33 CDT
  • Shalene McNeill on Why You Should Feed Your Baby Beef  Tue, 07 Sep 2021 12:20:07 CDT
  • Randy Blach Says Sustainability is an Opportunity for Beef Cattle Industry  Mon, 06 Sep 2021 05:00:35 CDT
  • Although Beef Demand is High, Dollars are Slow to Trickle Down to Producers  Fri, 03 Sep 2021 12:25:25 CDT
  • Dr. Harold Newcomb Says Strategic Deworming Helps Your Bottom Line  Thu, 02 Sep 2021 09:33:31 CDT
  • Carbon Markets: The Wild West of Free-Market Enterprise  Wed, 01 Sep 2021 10:38:53 CDT
  • Biden Administration Intent on Dumping Trump Era Navigable Waters Protection Rule  Tue, 31 Aug 2021 16:57:44 CDT
  • NCBA's Scott Yager Says Redefining WOTUS Will Be Repetitive  Mon, 30 Aug 2021 11:18:40 CDT
  • Mark Your Calendars for the Second Annual Cattlemen's Congress  Fri, 27 Aug 2021 11:46:50 CDT
  • More From NCBA's Kent Bacus on Why Beef Exports to China, Japan and Korea Work  Thu, 26 Aug 2021 11:36:51 CDT
  • U.S. Beef is Bustling in the Pacific Rim Says NCBA's Kent Bacus  Wed, 25 Aug 2021 08:32:01 CDT
  • Bruce Hoffman Talks Treating Bovine Respiratory Disease  Tue, 24 Aug 2021 09:29:20 CDT
  • OSU's Derrell Peel Says August Cattle on Feed Report Shows Tighter Cattle Supplies Ahead  Mon, 23 Aug 2021 13:24:14 CDT
  • Randy Blach Believes Better Quality Cattle Brings Great Eating Experience to Consumers  Fri, 20 Aug 2021 09:17:27 CDT
  • Dan Halstrom: There are Concerns Despite High Exports of Beef and Pork  Thu, 19 Aug 2021 10:42:01 CDT
  • U.S. Beef. It's What's for Dinner, Globally  Wed, 18 Aug 2021 10:23:41 CDT
  • NCBA Continues Work With Members and Congress in Improving Market Transparency and Cash Cattle Trade  Tue, 17 Aug 2021 10:29:42 CDT
  • Ethan Lane Says All Eyes are on Transfer Taxes  Mon, 16 Aug 2021 09:34:18 CDT
  • Scott Yager on What New Methane Measurements Mean for the Cattle Industry  Fri, 13 Aug 2021 10:05:46 CDT
  • CattleFax VP Kevin Good Says Cattle Market Leverage is Moving Toward Producers  Thu, 12 Aug 2021 09:20:34 CDT
  • NCBA's Danielle Beck on How the Biden Administration Plans on Funding Their Goals for the U.S.  Wed, 11 Aug 2021 09:53:56 CDT
  • NCBA President Jerry Bohn Talks How the Biden Administration Could Impact Beef Producers  Tue, 10 Aug 2021 11:36:01 CDT
  • Oklahoma National Stockyards President Kelli Payne Talks Resiliency Amid the Coronavirus Pandemic  Mon, 09 Aug 2021 21:39:00 CDT
  • Oklahoma National Stockyards President Kelli Payne Talks Resiliency Amid the Coronavirus Pandemic  Mon, 09 Aug 2021 10:36:15 CDT
  • Cattle Selling This Month at The Big Event at Express Ranches are the Best of the Best  Fri, 06 Aug 2021 13:53:58 CDT
  • American National Cattle Women: The Cattle Industry’s Boots on the Ground  Thu, 05 Aug 2021 17:14:35 CDT
  • Clay Burtrum Talks Beef Checkoff Efforts Ahead of the 2021 Cattle Industry Convention  Wed, 04 Aug 2021 20:06:59 CDT

  •  

       

    Ron salutes our daily email sponsors!

    Oklahoma Beef council Oklahoma Ag Credit Oklahoma Farm Bureau National Livestock Credit Ag Mediation Program P&K Equipment Tulsa Farm Show Union Mutual Stillwater Milling Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association KIS FUTURES, INC.

    Search OklahomaFarmReport.com

    © 2008-2021 Oklahoma Farm Report
    Email Ron   |   Newsletter Signup   |    Current Spots   |    Program Links

    WebReady powered by WireReady® Inc.