73rd Annual Alva FFA Banquet Gives out Awards

The 73rd Annual Alva FFA Banquet was held on May 14 at Alva Middle School. This banquet is held to celebrate accomplishments of the past year, thank all of our sponsors and parents, and announce the newly elected officer team. The new 2024-2025 FFA Officers are: Brady Lott, President; Avery McMurphey, Vice President; Jansen Shirley, Secretary; Christina Jenlink, Treasurer; Katelee Martin, Reporter; Kayla Leeper, Sentinel; Kaylen Woods, Historian;
Sydney Sanborn, Parliamentarian; and Madison Blocker, Chaplain.

Some other special awards were given at the banquet. The Star in Discovery Award is given to a member who has been the most active as an 8th grader. This award was given to Merritt Mantz. The Star Greenhand award is given to a member who shows excellence as a 9th grade member. This award was given to Kayla Leeper and Kaylen Woods. The Star Farmer
Award and the Star Ag Placement Award are given to members who have already obtained their Chapter Degree and have outstanding achievements in their Supervised Agriculture Experience.

As an FFA member, it is required to have a Supervised Agricultural Experience. There are many categories, but the following members excelled in their respective categories. Kayla Leeper won the Sheep Production Award. Brady Lott won the Beef Production Entrepreneurship award. Katelee Martin won the Ag Communications award. Brooklyn Murrow won the Ag Education award. Jansen Shirley won the Diversified Ag Production award. Ember Sandoval
won the Goat Production award. Connor Sneary won the Diversified Livestock Placement, Beef Production Placement, and Diversified Crop Production awards.

The Agronomy Team was recognized for their outstanding achievements throughout the year, and will receive belt buckles. THe Dekalb award and the Randy Nation Memorial Scholarship was given to Cristen Bosch. The Duane Sneary Award was given to Pryce Williams. The Dustin Graves Memorial Scholarship was given to Cristen Bosch, Connor Sneary, and Pryce Williams. The Honorary FFA Degree was given to Mr. Charlie Bird Jr. and Mrs. Kasady Dietz. The Ag Mechanics Team presented Byron Shirley with a model tractor of their restoration tractor project.

This banquet signifies the end of a very successful year and the start of a new one. The
new officer team cannot wait to begin their time serving!

Verified by MonsterInsights