NAWG Announces 2022 Wheat Leader of the Year Award to Rep. David Scott

The National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) awarded Rep. David Scott (D-GA-13) with its 2022 Wheat Leader of the Year Award for his work as Chair of the House Agriculture Committee during the 117th Congress. NAWG President Nicole Berg presented the award to Rep. Scott during a recent visit to Washington, DC.

“We appreciate all the work Rep. Scott does on behalf of wheat farmers and are proud to present him with the 2022 Wheat Leader of the Year Award,” said President Berg. “I was honored to testify before the full House Agriculture Committee and two separate subcommittees last year as the committee sought to review 2018 Farm Bill programs. Rep. Scott and his staff have been steadfast advocates for wheat growers by granting us a seat at the table as he and the committee work to form policies and programs that work for wheat growers.”

The award is given annually by NAWG to one Member of Congress based on their demonstrated commitment to the well-being and goals of the wheat industry. It is the wheat industry’s highest legislative award.

NAWG also presented six other Members of Congress with its Wheat Advocate Award for their support for the wheat industry that goes above and beyond the norm.

  • Senator Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
  • Senator John Boozman (R-AR)
  • Congressman Glenn “GT” Thompson (R-PA-15)
  • Congressman Frank Lucas (R-OK-3)
  • Congresswoman Kim Schrier (D-WA-8)
  • Congressman Tracey Mann (R-KS-1)

NAWG congratulates and thanks our award recipients for supporting wheat growers across the United States.  

Verified by MonsterInsights