Michael Peters Re-Appointed to Serve on the Oklahoma Wheat Commission

US Wheat Officer Michael Peters talking with Senior Farm and Ranch Broadcaster Ron Hays at NAFB Trade Talk

Oklahoma Secretary of Agriculture, Blayne Arthur, recently re-appointed Michael Peters to a five-year term on the Oklahoma Wheat Commission Board. Peters, a wheat producer from Okarche, will represent District III, which includes Beckham, Blaine, Canadian, Custer, Dewey, Kingfisher, Roger Mills and Washita counties.

“We are excited that Michael Peters has been re-appointed to the Oklahoma Wheat Commission board,” said Mike Schulte, Executive Director of the Oklahoma Wheat Commission. “His knowledge and experience with wheat production as a farmer and active roles held with the OWC Board and U.S. Wheat Associates Board (USW) continue to make him a valuable leader for the wheat industry on both state and national levels. It has been wonderful having him move up in leadership roles for our industry at a national level serving as an officer for USW. He will become Chairman of USW this summer in 2023 for a one-year term.” USW is the export market development organization for the U.S. wheat industry. USW promotes reliability, quality and value of all six U.S. wheat classes to wheat buyers, millers, bakers, food processors and government officials in more than 100 countries around the world. Its mission is to develop, maintain, and expand international markets to enhance wheat’s profitability for U.S. wheat producers and its value for their customers.

Peters’ responsibilities as a member of the commission include working with the other members to develop and oversee the implementation of policy and programs, approve budget expenditures, direct the funding of research, market development and public education, represent district producer interests, and promote Oklahoma wheat.

Michael and his wife Linda currently farm approximately 2800 acres with 2100 acres of that in wheat production. Peters serves on the Board of Directors for the CHS Coop Board in Oklahoma, the First Bank of Okarche, the Wheat Marketing Center, the Okarche Rural Fire Association and is the current Vice-Chairman of U.S. Wheat Associates. He and his family are members of St. John’s Lutheran Church in Okarche, OK and are members of Oklahoma Farm Bureau.

He will continue his service with current commission members, David Gammill, Chattanooga, Don Schieber, Ponca City, Raymond Parrish, Hunter and Jerry Wiebe, Hooker. The Oklahoma Wheat Commission promotes greater utilization of wheat in both domestic and international markets through research, market development and public education.

Verified by MonsterInsights